Expressionist Approach to Collage with Junk Mail and Plastic Bags

The aim of this technique is to re-purpose the kind of paper and plastic which come to me without me having to go looking for it at all. It’s really just a matter of collecting up this stuff. Preparation involves cutting up the plastic into a variety of shapes and sizes, and tearing up the paper material. Then, as i go, I cut up some useful shapes for facial features as I see fit. This technique is very easy on the hands, and incredibly cost effective, so I expect to be doing more of these in the colder months.
I glue it all down with mod podge glue, and once dry I paint over them with acrylic gel medium.

Collage face expressionist 1 001

Collaged Face #1

Collage with newsprint, coupons and plastic bags on 600gsm paper.

210/297mm

Collage face expressionist 2 001

Collaged Face #2

Collage with plastic bags on 600gsm paper.

210/297mm

Leave a Reply

