Recommended Documentary: The Devil and Daniel Johnston

2 thoughts on “Recommended Documentary: The Devil and Daniel Johnston

  1. He’s one of the greatest songwriters ever, eh? I bought that documentary a few years ago on DVD after I missed that at a film festival.

    “Don’t play cards with the devil, he will deal you an awful hand.”

    • I’ve only just discovered him, and I really like what he does. I was mainly interested in him as an artist. I love how he bares his soul in such a mythic way, but always with the recurring themes and motifs (Laura, Captain America, the eye, the Devil, Casper, etc). There are very few people who can weave different art forms together so well, and with such charm. I’m looking forward to checking out more of his music for sure.

Leave a Reply

