Recycled Art with Junk Mail and Fused Plastic

After using my paper trimmer to chop up some junk mail into different widths of vertical strips, I took some pieces of paper which I had painted on with water and indian ink and put them into my newly acquired paper shredder. I then collaged the strips side-by-side onto 620gsm paper. The previous day I had been fusing together pieces of plastic bags. Today I cut a primitive/naive looking hand from one of those fused plastic collages. I then cut out two sides of of a white translucent shopping bag and fused the hand shape in between to two sheets of white ( kind of “trapping’ it in the plastic).

I then glued the plastic onto the collaged paper strips, which created an interesting visual effect, while also serving to protect the surface.

It all sits inside a recycled frame which I did a white on black DIY crackle effect on.

Plastic hand 1

 

Leave a Reply

