Art Plastique in a Repurposed Frame

It took me a while but I successfully managed to sand the stain of a nice old frame which was a bit battered and bruised. Today I went about trying to give it a bit of an “antique chic” style by attempting a crackle effect for the first time. It didn’t come off as intended, but it’s not terrible.

I then began to play around with positioning the black hand I did with fused plastic, along with some of the cut-up collages of back of receipts I’ve been collecting from the supermarket.

Plastic had with coupons in frame

The receipts have been covered over with the translucent plastic of shopping bags collected from the very same store. I hope the work gets people thinking about the human hand and what it has brought about, and also how our hand is kind of forced to purchase plastic, but can perhaps repurpose some of the junk and discarded stuff for the sake of artistic expression.

Leave a Reply

