Shrinking a Plastic Pop Icon

In my last post I mentioned the idea I had for doing some pop art with the fused plastic technique. The pop icon I decided to pick on was Miley Cyrus. I reduced the image to two tones, printed it out, photocopied it up and traced it onto clear plastic with sharpies purple and orange. Then I simply placed a layer of clear plastic over the top and exposed Miley to the heat, which shrunk her, warped her, and put holes in her. I then fused the finished image onto previously fused translucent white plastic bags, so essentially, they were the ground.

plastic miley

Now I’m thinking of assembling her with some of the junkmail collages I’ve been working on.

 

Leave a Reply

